Apologies for missing a comic yesterday!

Hi there. I thought I had a comic scheduled for yesterday, but it seems I’ve run out my backlog already. I have a good excuse, though!

On Monday, Canada had a federal election. This was a very important event, because our previous Prime Minister was a pompous coward. There was a very real chance that if he’d gotten back into office, we’d find ourselves spiraling downward into the oblivion of a dictatorship masquerading as democracy. With that in mind, I threw a large amount of my energy into volunteering with the election through the office of a smart and kind man who got re-elected to Parliament, thus becoming MP once more.

Unfortunately, being a person who suffers chronic pain in addition to multiple mental health conditions, my energy is limited. For those of you who haven’t seen it, I recommend reading The Spoon Theory by Christine Miserandino. You can find it here. I have found this piece to be an excellent tool for explaining to people why I might seem perfectly fine, even almost “normal,” one day, but the next day I could be exhausted, in too much pain to get out of bed, having anxiety attacks, or experiencing other symptoms that prevent me from being much use at all. My own disability isn’t Lupus, but the concept works for all disabilities. (I have arthritis in my spine due to an injury, and a recent CT scan revealed a bone spur that may or may not be putting pressure on my spinal cord. This is in addition to mental health conditions diagnosed in my teens – Pediatric Onset Bipolar 1 Disorder, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, and Social Anxiety – and hearing loss caused by a genetic defect, which was diagnosed when I was 3 years old.)

Suffice to say, the volunteer work I did not only required that I borrow against the next day’s “spoons,” it required that I borrow against several days’ allotment of spoons. I have been barely functional since arriving home on Monday night.

None of this is an excuse – I knew I needed to get more content finished before Election Day. I did not do this. I have material – I have the basic story work for a good chunk of chapter one finished. But is it drawn, inked, coloured, and scanned? Heck no!

This is my own fault. I apologize, sincerely and deeply. I promise I will not only have a page ready tomorrow, but I will have some bonus art to add in the coming days as well!

I want to have enough comics by Halloween that I don’t have to work all November. That’s National Novel Writing Month, and I will have unholy amounts of work to do when THAT rolls around!

So once again, I apologize. I will do better next time.

Safe Travels!

Claire Aednet

Leave a Reply

